Birthday Girl

Posted: September 6, 2011 in Music
Tags: , ,

Part of the “Occasional and Seasonal” series (still in progress), one of two songs with “birthday” in the title that are only tangentially related to birthdays.

See this song performed live here.

Girly, girly

Yellow hair and curly

The times I used to hold you on my knee

I just want to see you,

To see if you still look like me,

To see if you are happy

So are you happy, birthday girl?

 

Smiling out of photos taken in the 80s

You were only babies

But I guess I thought you’d know me all the same

I was just a kid, but you know I loved your mother

And I loved you and your brother

Wish I coulda given you more than my name

 

Girly, girly

Yellow hair and curly

The times I used to hold you on my knee

I just want to see you,

To see if you still look like me,

To see if you are happy

So are you happy, birthday girl?

 

There were times that first year

I’d think, Maybe I can do this

Pushing strollers, washing soothers

I was strongest when I held you in my arms

And I’d swear I’d give up drinking

But the feeling never lasted

I was such a sorry bastard

How can I have hidden from you for so long?

 

Girly, girly

Yellow hair and curly

The times I used to sing you off to sleep

I just want to see you,

To see if you still look like me,

To see if you are happy

So are you happy, birthday girl

 

Well I’m still not much to speak of,

But you know I’m livin’ clean now

Almost 7 years it’s been now

And I’m still not sure where all the time has gone

 

Girly, girly

Yellow hair and curly

My little angel born on Father’s Day

What a woman you grew into

Your little boy looks just like me

You’re beautiful and happy

So very happy, birthday girl

Happy birthday girl

Leave a Reply

